Who We Are

Indigenous Enterprise Division

The overall goal of the Indigenous Enterprise Division is to work with relevant stakeholders to ensure that appropriate supports are in place to promote and develop entrepreneurship, to help businesses to start, scale and export, to prepare for Brexit and to work with stakeholders across the wider system to ensure a supportive business environment (for example, tax policy, skills availability etc.)

The Division operates a suite of policies and supports designed to assist and facilitate businesses at all stages of development and growth, from nascent and early stage entrepreneurs to companies of scale trading internationally.

This includes direct interventions such as the provision of Microfinance and Loan Guarantees, as well as working with the Division’s Agencies, Enterprise Ireland, the Local Enterprise Offices and the National Standards Authority of Ireland together with support for the Design and Crafts Council to ensure their supports are relevant and aligned to the evolving needs of business.

Assistant Secretary: Declan Hughes

Tel: +353 1 631 2869
Email: declan.hughes@dbei.gov.ie

Assistant Secretary’s Personal Assistant: Sarah Smithers

Tel: + 353 1  631 2156
Email: sarah.smithers@dbei.gov.ie

Units of Indigenous Enterprise Division

  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business Policy Unit
  • Enterprise Agencies and Programmes Unit
  • Finance for Growth and State Aids Unit
  • Regional Enterprise Plans and Enterprise Initiatives Unit
  • National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison Unit

Main contact points

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Deborah Dignam, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2305
Email: deborah.dignam@dbei.gov.ie

Entrepreneurship

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@dbei.gov.ie

Eoghan Richardson, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2227 
Email: eoghan.richardson@dbei.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@dbei.gov.ie

Enterprise Ireland

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@dbei.gov.ie

Wendy Gray, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2959
Email: wendy.gray@dbei.gov.ie

Siobhan Daly / Bill Wall / Christine Murray / Ronan Connolly / Aurel Veres
Tel: +353 1 631 2469 / 2230 / 2229 / 2480 / 2109
Email: siobhan.daly@dbei.gov.ie / bill.wall@dbei.gov.iechristine.murray@dbei.gov.ie / ronan.connolly@dbei.gov.ie / aurel.veres@dbei.gov.ie

Finance for Growth

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Late Payments

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Local Enterprise Offices

Thomas Murray, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: thomas.murray@dbei.gov.ie

Phyllis Kelly, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2145
Email: phyllis.kelly@dbei.gov.ie

Joan O'Brien, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2149
Email: joan.obrien@dbei.gov.ie

National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@dbei.gov.ie

Ciarán McLoughlin, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2175
Email: ciaran.mcloughlin@dbei.gov.ie

Jean Kelly / Sinéad O’Brien / Sarah Smithers
Tel: +353 1 631 2216 / 2178 / 2156
Email: jean.kelly@dbei.gov.ie / sinead.obrien@dbei.gov.ie / sarah.smithers@dbei.gov.ie

Regional Enterprise Plans

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Ross Church, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2086
Email: ross.church@dbei.gov.ie

Phelim Cassidy, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2023
Email: phelim.cassidy@dbei.gov.ie

Retail Sector

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Deborah Dignam, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2305
Email: deborah.dignam@dbei.gov.ie

Small Business, Advisory Group on Small Business, SME EU Envoy

Conor Verdon, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2418
Email: conor.verdon@dbei.gov.ie

State Aids

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Niamh Moloney, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2324
Email: niamh.moloney@dbei.gov.ie

Kay Colgan, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2388
Email: stateaidireland@dbei.gov.ie

David Moriarty, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2402
Email: david.moriarty@dbei.gov.ie

Supporting SMEs Online Tool

Eoghan Richardson, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2227
Email: eoghan.richardson@dbei.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@dbei.gov.ie

Getting Business Brexit Ready

Marc McEntegart, Aministrative Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2921
Email: marc.mcentegart@dbei.gov.ie

John O'Byrne, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2430
Email: john.obyrne@dbei.gov.ie