Who We Are

Indigenous Enterprise, Digital and Finance Division

The overall goal of the Indigenous Enterprise, Digital and Finance Division is to work with relevant stakeholders to ensure that appropriate supports are in place to promote and develop entrepreneurship, to help businesses to start, scale and export, and to advocate across the wider system for a supportive business environment (for example, tax policy, skills availability etc.)

The Division operates a suite of policies and supports designed to assist and facilitate businesses at all stages of development and growth, from nascent and early stage entrepreneurs to companies of scale trading internationally.

This includes direct interventions such as the provision of Microfinance and Loan Guarantees, as well as working with the Division’s Agencies (Enterprise Ireland, the Local Enterprise Offices, and the National Standards Authority of Ireland) to ensure their supports are relevant and aligned to the evolving needs of business.

Assistant Secretary: Declan Hughes

Tel: +353 1 631 2869
Email: declan.hughes@dbei.gov.ie

Assistant Secretary’s Personal Assistant: Sarah Smithers

Tel: + 353 1  631 2156
Email: sarah.smithers@dbei.gov.ie

Units of Indigenous Enterprise, Digital and Finance Division

  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business Policy Unit
  • Enterprise Agencies and Programmes Unit
  • Finance for Growth and State Aids Unit
  • Regional Action Plans for Jobs and Enterprise Initiatives Unit
  • Digital Economy

Main contact points

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Deborah Dignam, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2305
Email: deborah.dignam@dbei.gov.ie

Digital Single Market

John Dooley, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2271
Email: john.dooley@dbei.gov.ie

Entrepreneurship

Nina Brennan, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2257
Email: nina.brennan@dbei.gov.ie

Eoghan Richardson, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2227 
Email: eoghan.richardson@dbei.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@dbei.gov.ie

Enterprise Ireland

Eugene Forde, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: eugene.forde@dbei.gov.ie

Wendy Gray, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2959
Email: wendy.gray@dbei.gov.ie

Siobhan Daly / Bill Wall / Christine Murray / Ronan Connolly / Carmel Murphy
Tel: +353 1 631 2469 / 2230 / 2229 / 2480 / 2127
Email: siobhan.daly@dbei.gov.ie / bill.wall@dbei.gov.iechristine.murray@dbei.gov.ie / ronan.connolly@dbei.gov.ie / carmel.murphy@dbei.gov.ie

EU E-Commerce Directive (2000/31/EC)

Mark Dugdale, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2218 
Email: mark.dugdale@dbei.gov.ie

Finance for Growth

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Stephen Walsh, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2389
 Email: stephen.walsh@dbei.gov.ie

Late Payments

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Orla Kenny, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2302
Email: prompt.payment.returns@dbei.gov.ie

Local Enterprise Offices

Eugene Forde, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: eugene.forde@dbei.gov.ie

Joan O'Brien, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2149
Email: joan.obrien@dbei.gov.ie

National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) Liaison

Nina Brennan, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2155
Email: nina.brennan@dbei.gov.ie

Breda O'Brien, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2268
Email: breda.obrien@djei.ie

Ciarán McLoughlin, Administrative Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2175
Email: ciaran.mcloughlin@dbei.gov.ie

Regional Action Plans for Jobs

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Retail Sector

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

Deborah Dignam, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2305
Email: deborah.dignam@dbei.gov.ie

Small Business, Advisory Group on Small Business, SME EU Envoy

Nina Brennan, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2257
Email: nina.brennan@dbei.gov.ie

SME Access to Public Procurement

Céline McHugh, Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2876
Email: celine.mchugh@dbei.gov.ie

State Aids

Jean Carberry, Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2381
Email: jean.carberry@dbei.gov.ie

Niamh Moloney, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2324
Email: niamh.moloney@dbei.gov.ie

Kay Colgan, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2388
Email: stateaidireland@dbei.gov.ie

David Moriarty, Executive Officer
Tel: +353 1 631 2402
Email: david.moriarty@dbei.gov.ie

Supporting SMEs Online Tool

Eoghan Richardson, Assistant Principal Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2227
Email: eoghan.richardson@dbei.gov.ie

Laura Byrne, Higher Executive Officer
Tel: + 353 1 631 2263
Email: laura.byrne@dbei.gov.ie

Back to Top