Who We Are

Enterprise Strategy, Competitiveness and Evaluation Division

The Enterprise Strategy, Competitiveness and Evaluation Division works with other divisions in the Department and with other Government Departments with the aim of ensuring that policy supports a strong, competitive enterprise sector.

The Division provides evidence-based support to the work of the Department and works across government to enhance the business environment in areas such as skills, taxation, essential infrastructures, competitiveness and productivity. The enterprise, innovation and science surveys provide a key element of the policy research capability.

With the Department of An Taoiseach, the Division leads on the Government’s Future Jobs Ireland initiative. Future Jobs is a multi-year framework focused on key economic challenges including increasing SME productivity and raising labour market participation. It is also about positioning our economy and society to deal with the challenges of digitalisation and the transition to a low carbon economy.

The Enterprise Strategy, Competitiveness and Evaluation Division supports the work of the National Competitiveness Council (NCC) and the Expert Group on Future Skills Needs (EGFSN). Both the NCC and EGFSN publish their advice and reports on their respective websites.

Assistant Secretary: David Hegarty

Units of the Enterprise Strategy, Competitiveness and Evaluation Division

  • Competitiveness, Productivity and Climate Action Unit
  • Labour Market and Skills Unit
  • Monitoring, Evaluation and Research Support Unit
  • Enterprise Strategy Unit
  • Digital Single Market and Digital Economy Policy

Main contact points

Competitiveness, Productivity and Climate Action

Marie Bourke

Tel: +353 1 631 2846

Email: Marie.Bourke@dbei.gov.ie

Labour Market and Skills

Kevin Daly

Tel: +353 1 631 2423

Email: Kevin.Daly@dbei.gov.ie

Monitoring, Evaluation and Research Support

Karen Hynes

Tel: +353 1 631 2870

Email: Karen.Hynes@dbei.gov.ie

Enterprise Strategy

John Newham

Tel: +353 1 631 2864

Email: John.Newham@dbei.gov.ie

Digital Single Market and Digital Economy Policy

John Dooley

Tel: +353 1 631 2271

Email: John.Dooley@dbei.gov.ie

Main divisional contact

Email: Betty.Tyrrell@dbei.gov.ie

Back to Top