News & Events

New Awards for Small Business at Ploughing

A new award scheme to highlight the achievements of small businesses is being introduced by the Local Enterprise Offices at this year’s National Ploughing Championships.

The first-ever ‘Local Enterprise Village Awards’ will be presented next week by the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Ms. Mary Mitchell O’ Connor T.D., when she officially opens the Local Enterprise Village at the Ploughing Championships in Tullamore.

Organised by the Local Enterprise Offices, the six prize categories are: ‘Visual Display’, ‘Consumer Product’, ‘Consumer Service’, ‘Food and Drink’ along with two ‘Vision’ Awards and judging will be carried out by Enterprise Ireland.

A total of 84 small companies will be judged in this year’s competition, as they showcase their products and services inside the Local Enterprise Village at Europe’s largest outdoor event, which attracted 281,000 visitors last year.

Speaking about the new award competition, The Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Mary Mitchell O’ Connor T.D. said: “I am delighted to be presenting these new ‘Local Enterprise Village Awards’ which are being introduced by the Local Enterprise Offices this year to highlight the achievements of small businesses across the country, who contribute to Ireland’s rural economy. By highlighting their achievements, I want to encourage others to start their own business and become entrepreneurs as more entrepreneurs starting their businesses which will further enhance our economy by creating more quality jobs right across Ireland. I look forward to meeting this year’s winners at the Local Enterprise Village at the National Ploughing Championships.”

Kieran Comerford of the Local Enterprise Offices said: “The idea behind the Local Enterprise Village Awards is to put small businesses and start-ups into the national spotlight during the Ploughing Championships, which has grown into Europe’s largest outdoor event. There’s also a new product launch and demonstration area inside the Local Enterprise Village, to give SMEs the ideal platform to unveil new products and services to the wider public.”

Julie Sinnamon, CEO Enterprise Ireland added: “The Local Enterprise Village Awards is an opportunity for young businesses to showcase their unique and innovative product and service offerings. The level of interest expressed in this the first year of the awards is a very positive indication of the level of innovation taking place across a broad range of sectors. Enterprise Ireland welcomes the initiative and looks forward to learning about the projects showcased and hopefully working with the exhibitors as they grow and develop their businesses in the future.”

Tom Murphy, Wicklow County Council, reiterated the commitment of the Local Authorities to supporting small business. He said: “The LEOs working within the local authorities are playing a vital role in ensuring balanced regional development and job creation. Facilitating small businesses to gain exposure to their target market at an event, like the National Ploughing Championships, is fundamental to the type of support offered by the LEOs, which is all about assisting local businesses to grow, becoming profitable, sustainable and employing people at local level.”

 

 

More details around the Local Enterprise Village, which will be located at Stand Number 765, Row 32 in Block 4, are available through www.localenterprise.ie and by searching #localenterprise on social media. The 85th Annual National Ploughing Championships run over three days, from Tuesday September 20th to Thursday 22nd in Tullamore, Co. Offaly and tickets are on sale through www.npa.ie

ENDS

For all media information, please contact Engage Ireland

Sarah Bohan at: Tel: 01 427 8388 / office @ engageireland.com

Notes to Editor:

Photography Note: High resolution, reproduction-free images, are available from this announcement.

Local Enterprise Village Awards 2016 (inaugural year)

Organised by the Local Enterprise Offices and judged by Enterprise Ireland

Prize categories:

·         Visual Display Award

·         Consumer Product Award

·         Food & Drink Award

·         Consumer Service Award

·         Vision Awards (this will be awarded to two companies)

List of all small businesses taking part in Local Enterprise Village 2016 (September 20th – 22nd)

Location: Stand number 765, Row 32, Block 4

Supported by Local Enterprise Offices in the local authorities network

Carlow: Tumbledown Media www.freddybuttons.com

Carlow: IAS Laboratories www.iaslabs.ie

Cavan: Scotts Irish Cider www.scottsirishcider.com

Cavan: Stop & Stare Designs Co www.stopandstare.com

Clare: Fun Affordable Gifts www.funaffordablegifts.com

Clare: Western Herd Brewing Co www.westernherd.com

Cork City: Rebel Chilli www.rebelchilli.com

Cork North and West: O’ Callaghan Hurleys

Cork North and West: Ocean Bloom www.oceanbloom.ie

Cork North and West: Chart Datum www.chartdatum.ie

Cork South: Barbara Hall Creations www.barbarahallcreations.ie

Cork South: Lifekitchen.ie www.lifekitchen.ie

Donegal: North Atlantic Seaweed Products www.salviesea.ie

Donegal: Lanky Yanky Studio

Dublin City: Delish Melish www.delishmelish.com

Fingal: Periwinkle Design

Fingal: Giftcentre www.giftcentre.ie

Fingal: 65 Hurls www.65hurls.com

Fingal: Celtic Gent www.celticgent.com

Dublin South: Access Education Ltd www.primaryschools.ie

Dublin South: Little Pharma

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: Dalkey Handmade Soaps www.dalkeyhandmadesoaps.ie

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: Melanie Hand Designer Jewellery www.melaniehand.com

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: The Irish Workshop/ TIW Ltd www.theirishworkshop.com

Galway: Collerans Butchers

Galway: The Galway Food Company www.thegalwayfoodcompany.com

Galway: Green Earth Organics

Galway: Friends and Family Trees

Galway: Aran Island Cheeses

Kerry: Kerry Signature Furniture www.kerrysignaturefurniture.ie

Kerry: Taste Kerry www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: O'Donnell`s Bakery www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Skellig Pantry (Smoked Trout) www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Lorge Chocolatier www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Rolf's Fine Food www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Camo`s Bistro www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Oilean Chocolates (Chocolate Pops) www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Killarney Toffee www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Ring of Kerry Apple Farm (Apple Juice) www.tastekerry.ie

Kildare: HACI Ltd, Hose & Coupling Ireland www.hcirl.com

Kildare: Nadicom www.geneticdetection.ie

Kilkenny: #tastekilkenny Stand

Kilkenny: Mooncoin Homegrown Beetroot www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Bernie's Farmhouse Desserts www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Goatsbridge Trout Farm www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Highbank Orchards www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Shellumsrath Free Range www.tastekilkenny.ie

Laois: Flavour Safari

Laois: Rose & Alice Handcrafted Soaps www.roseandalice.com

Leitrim: Chef Sham Sauces www.cottagerestaurant.ie

Leitrim: Artwood www.artwood.ie

Limerick: McAdare www.mcadare.ie

Limerick: Lubdub Foods www.lubdubfoods.com

Longford: Kaber Performance www.kaberperformance.com

Longford: Go Oats

Louth: Duinn Designs www.duinndesigns.com

Louth: Finca Skin Organics www.rosacea.ie

Mayo: Cuinneog Artisan Dairy www.cuinneog.com

Mayo: Monaghan Bros Bar Furniture Manufacturers www.barfurniture.net

Meath: E. Finnegan & Sons www.finnegansfarm.ie

Meath: Cara Mara Seaweed www.caramara.ie

Monaghan: Pollock's Pickles & Preserves www.pollockspickles.com

Monaghan: Shanks Engineering Ltd - Farmhitch www.farmhitch.com

Offaly: De Mad Food Company www.demadfoodco.com

Offaly: Deanery Furniture www.deaneryfurniture.com

Roscommon: Projects 5 creations www.beltlock.ie

Roscommon: Derrycashel Crafts www.woodenclocksroscommon.ie

Sligo: Clo's Chocolates www.closchocolates.ie

Sligo: SUIP Manufacturing www.suipco.ie

Tipperary: Emerald Oils www.emeraldoils.ie

Tipperary: Tactile Text

Tipperary: Premium Fire Products

Waterford: Embermats www.embermats.com

Waterford: The Tipperary Kitchen

Waterford: Coffee House Lane www.coffeewarehouse.ie

Westmeath: DBee Press

Westmeath: SoulSnacks www.soulsnacks.ie

Wexford: Wexford Food Family www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: Naturally Cordial www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: Wexford Home Preserves www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: O’ Neills Dry Cure Bacon www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wicklow: Pacefeeder www.pacefeeder.ie

Wicklow: Toby Wagons www.tobywagons.com

Back to Top